Admin

English

Department Goals:

The Office of English and Reading seeks to improve student achievement by developing curriculum which is aligned with the Maryland Content Standards, providing professional development for the systematic implementation of the Essential Curriculum, and selecting instructional materials that are appropriate and engaging in order to attain the following program goals:

  • To help students appreciate that language is the basis of all culture, the primary means of communication with others, and the tool with which most of us work.
  • To develop competence in those reading skills necessary for the performance of school tasks and for the use of reading as an instrument of personal achievement, enlightenment, and enjoyment throughout life.
  • To help students develop critical attitudes and standards in evaluating and choosing among books, periodicals, radio and television programs, stage and motion picture productions.
  • To provide students with opportunities for creative expression on the level of their capacities and interests.
  • To teach students, through experiences with good literature, the language techniques and literary forms used by accomplished writers and the significant themes that reflect the human condition.

Cutlip, Julie*

Literary Arts, English 9

jcutlip@bcps.org

Avallone, Natalie

English 12, AP

navallone@bcps.org

Bellinger, Brent

English 11, AVID

bbellinger@bcps.org

Dorfman, Jillian

English 10, AVID

jdorfman@bcps.org

Driscoll, Lauren

English 9, 12

Ldriscoll@bcps.org

Dunn, Trisha

Literary Arts

Tdunn2@bcps.org

Goode, Morgan

English 11, AP

mgoode@bcps.org

Heinlein, Kevin

English 9, 11, AP

kheinlein@bcps.org

Johnson, Marlow

English 9

Mjohnson17@bcps.org

Lawless, Kristen

English 9, 12

klawless@bcps.org

Newland, Kelsey

English 10

knewland@bcps.org

Nolan, Victoria

English 11, AVID

vnolan@bcps.org

Servetnick, Deborah

English 12

dservetnick@bcps.org