Admin

Social Studies

Department Goals:

The Office of Secondary Social Studies guides the development, implementation, and assessment of social studies instruction; provides professional development for middle and high school social studies teachers; serves as a liaison for the school system and the community; and facilitates extra-curricular programs for students.

  • Partnerships with community institutions and governmental agencies to provide services for teachers and students
  • Administration of a $1 million dollar Teaching American History Grant
  • Implementation of student programs such as Quiz Bowl, Mock Trial, Model Congress, and Model United Nations


Instructor

Subject

Email


Skordalos, Sandra*

-AP Economics

-AP Human Geography


sskordalos@bcps.org

Bliss, Cindy

-Economics

-Psychology

cbliss@bcps.org

Charles, Rouland

-American Government

rcharles@bcps.org

Michael Ches

-American Government

-Criminal Justice

mches4@bcps.org


Dorfman, Steve

-World History

-History Through Sports

-Films as History


sdorfman@bcps.org

Gaddy, Pam

-Criminal Justice

-US History

pstokes2@bcps.org

Gardner, Jarrod

-World History

jgardner@bcps.org

Hillhouse, Tammy

-World History

-AP World History

thillhouse@bcps.org

Karwacki, Chris

-AP World History

-US History

ckarwacki@bcps.org

McComb, Sarah

-AP Psychology

-American Government

-US History

smccomb2@bcps.org

Mininsky, Andrew

-Economics

-AP Human Geography

-AVID

amininsky@bcps.org

Delana Shifflett

-American Government

dshifflett@bcps.org

Warble, Larry

-US History

-AP US History

lwarble@bcps.org