English

Department Goals:

The Office of English and Reading seeks to improve student achievement by developing curriculum which is aligned with the Maryland Content Standards, providing professional development for the systematic implementation of the Essential Curriculum, and selecting instructional materials that are appropriate and engaging in order to attain the following program goals:

  • To help students appreciate that language is the basis of all culture, the primary means of communication with others, and the tool with which most of us work.
  • To develop competence in those reading skills necessary for the performance of school tasks and for the use of reading as an instrument of personal achievement, enlightenment, and enjoyment throughout life.
  • To help students develop critical attitudes and standards in evaluating and choosing among books, periodicals, radio and television programs, stage and motion picture productions.
  • To provide students with opportunities for creative expression on the level of their capacities and interests.
  • To teach students, through experiences with good literature, the language techniques and literary forms used by accomplished writers and the significant themes that reflect the human condition.

Instructor

Subject

Email

Cutlip, Julie*

English 9

jcutlip@bcps.org

Avallone, Natalie

English 11, AP, SAT

navallone@bcps.org

Bellinger, Brent

English 11

bbellinger@bcps.org

Dunn, Trisha

English 10, AP

tdunn2@bcps.org

Johnson, Marlow

English 9, 10

mjohnson@bcps.org

Laur, Marisa

English 12

mlaur@bcps.org

Lawless, Kristen

English 10, 12

klawless@bcps.org

Letters, Amber

English 10, 12

aletters@bcps.org

Losinger, Brian

English 9, 12

blosinger@bcps.org

Ma, Mara

English 10

mmara@bcps.org

Roberta, Jillian

English 10, SAT

jroberta@bcps.org

Servetnick, Deborah


English 9


dservetnick@bcps.org

Summers, Michele

English 10, 11

msummers2@bcps.org