Admin

English

Department Goals:

The Office of English and Reading seeks to improve student achievement by developing curriculum which is aligned with the Maryland Content Standards, providing professional development for the systematic implementation of the Essential Curriculum, and selecting instructional materials that are appropriate and engaging in order to attain the following program goals:

  • To help students appreciate that language is the basis of all culture, the primary means of communication with others, and the tool with which most of us work.
  • To develop competence in those reading skills necessary for the performance of school tasks and for the use of reading as an instrument of personal achievement, enlightenment, and enjoyment throughout life.
  • To help students develop critical attitudes and standards in evaluating and choosing among books, periodicals, radio and television
    programs, stage and motion picture productions.
  • To provide students with opportunities for creative expression on the level of their capacities and interests.
  • To teach students, through experiences with good literature, the language techniques and literary forms used by accomplished writers and the significant themes that reflect the human condition.
 Teacher Courses Taught Email Address 
         Leslie Cook     Department Chair, English 10
lcook@bcps.org
         Natalie Avallone      English 12, AP, Literary Arts navallone@bcps.org
         Brent Bellinger     English 11, AVID bbellinger@bcps.org
         Julie Cutlip     English 12, Literary Arts jcutlip@bcps.org
         Lauren Driscoll     English 9, 12 ldriscoll@bcps.org
         Katherine Giiter     English 12, 11 kgiiter@bcps.org
         Kevin Heinlein     English 9, 11 AP, Journalism kheinlein@bcps.org
         Marlow Johnson         English 9 mjohnson17@bcps.org
         Mara Ma     English 10 mma@bcps.org
         Kelsey Newland     English 10 knewland@bcps.org
         Deborah Servetnick     English 12 dservetnick@bcps.org
        Alexandra Strott      English 9, 11 astrott@bcps.org