Admin

Social Studies

Department Goals:

The Office of Secondary Social Studies guides the development, implementation, and assessment of social studies instruction; provides professional development for middle and high school social studies teachers; serves as a liaison for the school system and the community; and facilitates extra-curricular programs for students.

  • Partnerships with community institutions and governmental agencies to provide services for teachers and students
  • Administration of a $1 million dollar Teaching American History Grant
  • Implementation of student programs such as Quiz Bowl, Mock Trial, Model Congress, and Model United Nations


Instructor

Subject

Email


Skordalos, Sandra*          

-AP Economics

-AP Geography


sskordalos@bcps.org

Bliss, Cindy     

-Economics

cbliss@bcps.org

Charles, Rouland  -World History rcharles@bcps.org
Michael Ches  -American Government mches4@bcps.org


Dorfman, Steve

-World History Honors

-US History Honors


sdorfman@bcps.org

Gaddy, Pam

-Criminal Justice

-World History

pstokes2@bcps.org

Gardner, Jarrod

-AP US History

-World History

jgardner@bcps.org

Hillhouse, Tammy

-World History Honors

-AP History Honors

thillhouse@bcps.org

Karwacki, Chris

-American Government

-US History

ckarwacki@bcps.org

McComb, Sarah                     

-World History

-AVID

smccomb@bcps.org

McWhorter, Patrick

-American Government

-US History

pmcwhorter@bcps.org

Mininsky, Andrew

-Econonomics

-AP Geography

-AVID

aminisky@bcps.org

Delana Shifflet  -US History
-US History Honors
 dshifflett@bcps.org

Warble, Larry

-US History Honors

-AP US History

lwarble@bcps.org