Social Studies

Department Goals:

The Office of Secondary Social Studies guides the development, implementation, and assessment of social studies instruction; provides professional development for middle and high school social studies teachers; serves as a liaison for the school system and the community; and facilitates extra-curricular programs for students.

  • Partnerships with community institutions and governmental agencies to provide services for teachers and students
  • Administration of a $1 million dollar Teaching American History Grant
  • Implementation of student programs such as Quiz Bowl, Mock Trial, Model Congress, and Model United Nations


Instructor

Email

Skordalos, Sandra*

sskordalos@bcps.org

Casey, Benjamin

bcasey@bcps.org

 Clough, Tyler  
tclough@bcps.org

Michael Ches

mches4@bcps.org

Dorfman, Steve

sdorfman@bcps.org

Gaddy, Pam

pstokes2@bcps.org

Gardner, Jarrod

jgardner@bcps.org


 Hall, Victoria
 
vhall3@bcps.org

Hillhouse, Tammy

thillhouse@bcps.org


Kinsey, Hugh 

 hkinsey2@bcps.org
 
Kokernak, Karen

kkokernak@bcps.org

McComb, Sarah

smccomb2@bcps.org

Delana Shifflett

dshifflett@bcps.org